West Virginia Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians
Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in West Virginia is controlled by the West Virginia State Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.
General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in West Virginia
Specific requirements to perform manicurists and nail technicians services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians
Before you apply to one of these schools you should confirm you meet these minimum requirements:
Are at least 18 years old
Can pass a tuberculosis test
Have a high school diploma or GED
As you will see there are several different manicurist schools to choose from, with programs located throughout West Virginia in cities like:
Your manicurist courses must be at least 400 hours in length. The subjects you study will include:
100 theory hours of general professional information, such as business management, sanitation, first aid, and state law
64 hours of theory and 10 hours of practical experience relating to the science of nail technology, such as nail diseases, electricity, the chemistry of nail products, and human anatomy and physiology
12 theory hours and 80 hours of practical experience relating to the performance of manicures, pedicures, massage, nail wraps, nail tips, tool disinfection, nail polishing, and UV gel
21 theory hours and 113 hours of practical experience relating to the art of nail technology such as nail enhancements, creative design, electric filing, and advanced procedures
Once you have earned at least 150 hours of education you can start working with members of the public even as a student at your nail technician school.
What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?
What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
License will expire every two years in your birth month
What are fees associated with licensing?
For fees, licensing duration and renewal details check with local governing body.