Vermont Licensing Overview for a Barber
Licensing for a barber in Vermont is controlled by the Vermont Board of Barbers & Cosmetologists.
General Guidelines for a Barber in Vermont
Specific requirements to perform barber services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Anyone holding a barber license
General requirements for a barber license?
1,000 hours of study at an accredited barber school
Written and practical barber examination
What’s the state licensing site for a barber?
What are some training programs available for a barber?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
Renews by November 30 in odd-numbered years.
What are fees associated with licensing?
A barber is a professional who specializes in the cutting, styling, and grooming of men and boy’s hair and beards. This profession has a long-standing history filled with tradition and is an important subsection of the beauty industry. Many of the techniques and tools of barbering are as old as the profession itself. This includes the tools, techniques and overall aesthetic of the barbershop itself. Barbers are experts in their field. A barber’s job is primarily in customer satisfaction, which revolves around the customer service, friendliness, and communication of the barber.
To become a licensed barber in Vermont there are several steps that must be taken.
- The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
- Apply for registration with the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
- Undertake state licensing exams
- Ensure your license remains up to date
The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
In Vermont there are two methods in which to gain the necessary qualifications to become a licensed barber: a formal barbering program or an apprenticeship. Students are required to undertake a minimum of 1,000 hours of registered coursework at a barber college. This will be sufficient to practice as a barber following examinations.
To become a licensed barber through an apprenticeship, students are required to undertake a minimum of 200 hours under the direct supervision of a fully licensed barber.
Apply for registration in the State of Vermont
Following the completion of formal education via an institution, barbers are required to apply for registration with the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. Once this application has been processed, barbers are then able to apply for the licensing examinations. In order to have this application processed, applicants are required to first create a Professional Credential Services (PCS) online account, and then to submit:
- The completed application
- A barber diploma
- A copy of a driver’s license or birth certificate
- A copy of social security card
- A $250 licensing fee
- A high school diploma
- And are over the age of 18
Undertake state licensing exams
In Vermont there are three licensing exams that must be completed: the theoretical exam, a state law exam, and the practical exam. Barber examinations in Vermont are written and conducted by PCS.
The main concepts that will be covered in the theory exam may include (but are not limited to) the following:
- Scientific concepts
- Hair services
- Facial hair services
- Skin care and facial services
The main concepts that are covered in the practical examination may include (but are not limited to) the following:
- Set up and client protection
- Shaving with a straight razor
- Chemical Waving
- Virgin hair lightening
- Chemical Relaxing
The Vermont State Rules and Regulations Exam will cover the sanitary regulations, which may be found on the board website.
Barbers will be sent an official notice from the board detailing their results from both examinations. If successful, barbers will be eligible and licensed to practice within the state.
Ensure your license remains up to date
Licensed barbers are required to renew their license in odd-numbereds year by September 30. This can be done easily online through the Vermont State Board’s online license renewal portal. There is a $130 renewal fee for this license.
There is currently no ongoing education needs for barbers during their licensing period in the state of Vermont. However, many barbers may choose to undertake ongoing education to further their career opportunities and stay up to date in current fashions and trends.