Tennessee Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians
Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in Tennessee is controlled by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in Tennessee
Specific requirements to perform manicurists and nail technicians services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians
If you are at least 16 years of age you can enroll in one of the many approved nail technician schools in Tennessee.
To qualify for a license, you must complete a series of manicurist courses that total at least 600 hours (18 credit hours) and include the following:
150 hours or 4.5 credits on state law, sterilization, sanitation, ethics, and bacteriology
100 hours or 3 credits on nail product ingredient knowledge and EPA/OSHA guidelines
350 hours or 10.5 credits on massage, manicuring, pedicuring, nail artistry, wraps, tips, gels, sculptured nails, and nail safety
There are dozens of approved cosmetology schools throughout the state that offer the required curriculum of nail technician courses. When choosing among these programs you may want to compare factors such as cost, reputation, and location.
Once you have completed Tennessee’s manicurist school requirements you will be cleared to take the nail technician exams.
What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?
What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
You will need to renew your license one each year
What are fees associated with licensing?
For fees, licensing duration and renewal details check with local governing body.