Tennessee Licensing Overview for an Electrician

Licensing for an electrician in Tennessee is controlled by the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors.

General Guidelines for an Electrician in Tennessee

Specific requirements to perform electrician services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.

Who’s allowed to perform these services?

Electrician

General requirements for an electrician license?

•Electrician License: Must pass a business law and electrical exam; applicants holding a contractor’s license are exempt from the exam; requirements vary but generally requires 8,000 hour apprenticeship plus 500 classroom hours

•Electrical Contractor License: Licensed through Department of Commerce and Insurance; necessary for any project exceeding $25,000; must pass a business law and electrical contractor exam; limited licensed electrician license is required for projects less than $25,000, except where counties have their own licensing and inspections

What’s the state licensing site for an electrician?

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors

What are some training programs available for an electrician?

See schools and training programs.

How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?

LIcense expired every two years

What are fees associated with licensing?

$50

Location(s):

Tennessee