Oregon Licensing Overview for a Barber
Licensing for a barber in Oregon is controlled by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA).
General Guidelines for a Barber in Oregon
Specific requirements to perform barber services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Anyone holding a barber license
General requirements for a barber license?
Barber License – 1100 Hours
Barber Instructor License – 2 Years Work Experience
What’s the state licensing site for a barber?
What are some training programs available for a barber?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
Renew every 2 years by the last day of the month of issuance
What are fees associated with licensing?
A barber is a professional who specializes in the cutting, styling, and grooming of men and boy’s hair and beards. This profession has a long-standing history filled with tradition and is an important subsection of the beauty industry. Many of the techniques and tools of barbering are as old as the profession itself. This includes the tools, techniques and overall aesthetic of the barbershop itself. Barbers are experts in their field. A barber’s job is primarily in customer satisfaction, which revolves around the customer service, friendliness, and communication of the barber in conjunction with the execution of a sharp and precise hair cut that barbers are famous for.
To become a barber, there is a set lot of requirements that is individual to each state across America. The following pages look at the detailed information on individual state licensing to help give you the best advice as you move forward in your career path.
To become a licensed barber in the state of Oregon there are several steps that must be taken.
- The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
- Apply for registration with the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA) and Board of Cosmetology
- Undertake state licensing exams
- Ensure your license remains up to date
The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
In the state of Oregon, there only one methods in which to gain the necessary qualifications to become a licensed barber: a formal barbering program. Students are required to undertake a minimum of 1350 hours of registered coursework at a barber college. This will be sufficient to practice as a barber following examinations.
The state of Oregon does not currently allow apprenticeships as a career path to become a barber.
Apply for registration in the state of Oregon
Following the completion of formal education via an institution, barbers are required to apply for registration with the Oregon Health Licensing Agency (OHLA) and Board of Cosmetology. Once this application has been processed, barbers are then able to apply for the licensing examinations. In order to have this application processed, applicants are required to submit:
- The completed written examination application
- The completed cosmetology practitioner application
- An Oregon laws and rules fee of $35
- An examination fee of $35
- A barber diploma
- A copy of a driver’s license or birth certificate
Undertake state licensing exams
In the state of Oregon, there are two licensing exams that must be completed: the theoretical exam and the state law exam. Barber examinations in Oregon are written and conducted by the State Board.
The main concepts that will be covered in the theory exam may include (but are not limited to) the following:
- Scientific concepts
- Hair services
- Facial hair services
- Skin care and facial services
The state law examination will cover the following:
- Facility Standards
- Practice Standards
- Facility Operations
Barbers will be notified by the examiners if they have passed their examinations immediately following their testing. If barbers are successful, they are required to pay a $25 licensing fee, and are eligible and licensed to practice within the state of Oregon.
Ensure your license remains up to date
Licensed barbers are required to update their license every two years within the month of reception of the original license. This can be done easily online through the Oregon State Board’s online license renewal portal. There is a $45 renewal fee for this license.
There is currently no ongoing education needs for barbers during their licensing period in the state of Oregon. However, many barbers may choose to undertake ongoing education to further their career opportunities and stay up to date in current fashions and trends.