New Jersey Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians
Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in New Jersey is controlled by the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling.
General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in New Jersey
Specific requirements to perform manicures and nail services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians
If you are at least 17 years old and a high school graduate, you are eligible to take the first step toward a manicurist license: formal training.
The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling requires your program to offer at least 300 hours of instruction to fulfill the educational licensing requirements. However, many schools will even go further than that by offering advanced training in everything from business management to safety procedures.
Nail technician school will prepare you to provide comprehensive manicuring services through courses that cover:
The Art of Nail Design
The Science of Nails and Skin
The Manicuring Business
Manicuring and Pedicuring
Nail Tips and Extensions
Decontamination and Infection Control
Diseases and Disorders of the Nail
Anatomy of the Hand, Arm, Foot, and Leg
Removal of Unwanted Hair
Chemicals and Chemistry
Administrative Shop Operations
State Board Exam Preparation
State Laws, Rules, and Regulations for Manicurists
What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?
What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
The Board will notify you every 2 years of your upcoming license renewal date
What are fees associated with licensing?
For fees, licensing duration and renewal details check with local governing body.