New Hampshire Licensing Overview for a Barber
Licensing for a barber in New Hampshire is controlled by the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology & Aesthetics.
General Guidelines for a Barber in New Hampshire
Specific requirements to perform barber services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Anyone holding a barber license
General requirements for a barber license?
Barbers – 800 Hours or 1,600 hour apprenticeship
Master Barbers – 1,500 Hours or 3,000 hour apprenticeship
What’s the state licensing site for a barber?
What are some training programs available for a barber?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
Renews every 2 years by the last day of the licensee’s birthday month.
What are fees associated with licensing?
A barber is a professional who specializes in the cutting, styling, and grooming of men and boy’s hair and beards. This profession has a long-standing history filled with tradition and is an important subsection of the beauty industry. Many of the techniques and tools of barbering are as old as the profession itself. This includes the tools, techniques and overall aesthetic of the barbershop itself. Barbers are experts in their field. A barber’s job is primarily in customer satisfaction, which revolves around the customer service, friendliness, and communication of the barber.
To become a licensed barber in New Hampshire there are several steps that must be taken.
- The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
- Apply for registration with the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics.
- Undertake state licensing exams
- Ensure your license remains up to date
The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
In New Hampshire, there are two methods in which to gain the necessary qualifications to become a licensed barber: a formal barbering program and an apprenticeship. The first option is for students to undertake a minimum of 800 hours of registered coursework at a barber college. This will be sufficient to practice as a barber following examinations.
To become a licensed barber through an apprenticeship, students are required to undertake a minimum of 1600 hours of training under the direct supervision of a fully licensed barber.
Apply for registration in the state of New Hampshire
Following the completion of formal education via an institution, barbers are required to apply for registration with the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics. Once this application has been processed, barbers are then able to complete the licensing examinations. In order to have this application processed, applicants are required to submit:
- The completed application
- A copy of your driver’s license
- An application fee
- A high school diploma
- A barber diploma
- Complete questionnaire
Undertake state licensing exams
In New Hampshire, there are three licensing exams that must be completed: the theoretical exam, the state law and the practical exam. There will be a fee for these examinations.
The main concepts that will be covered in the theory exam may include (but are not limited to) the following:
- Scientific concepts
- Hair services
- Facial hair services
- Skin care and facial services
The main concepts that are covered in the practical examination may include (but are not limited to) the following:
- Set up and client protection
- Shaving with a straight razor
- Chemical Waving
- Virgin hair lightening
- Chemical Relaxing
The state law examination that covers the topics of New Hampshire Statutes and New Hampshire Rules.
Barbers will be sent an official notice from the board detailing their results from both examinations. If successful, barbers will be eligible for licensure to practice within the state of New Hampshire.
Ensure your license remains up to date
Licensed barbers are required to update their license in their birthday month each odd numbered year. This can be done easily online through the New Hampshire State Board’s online license renewal portal. There is a $40 renewal fee for this license.
There is currently no ongoing education needs for barbers during their licensing period in the state of New Hampshire. However, many barbers may choose to undertake ongoing education to further their career opportunities and stay up to date in current fashions and trends.