Missouri Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians
Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in Missouri is controlled by the Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in Missouri
Specific requirements to perform manicures and nail services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians
To qualify for licensure as a manicurist in Missouri, you must complete a course of study through a formal nail technology program that is no less than 400 hours in duration.
The Board recognizes a manicurist in Missouri as a beauty professional who is permitted to perform these nail services:
Applying artificial nails
Manicurists may also massage and clean a client’s hands arms, legs, and feet.
An approved nail technician program must include:
At least 220 hours of manicuring, hand and arm massage, and the treatment of nails
At least 20 hours of salesmanship and management
At least 20 hours of sanitation and sterilization
At least 10 hours of anatomy
At least 10 hours related to Missouri state law
At least 40 hours of the use and application of chemicals
At least 80 hours of curriculum determined by the school
To qualify for one of the programs offered in Missouri’s nail technician schools, you must be at least 17 years old and have completed the 10th grade.
What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?
What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
Renews by September 30 in odd-numbered years.
What are fees associated with licensing?
For fees, licensing duration and renewal details check with local governing body.