Mississippi Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians
Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in Mississippi is controlled by the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology.
General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in Mississippi
Specific requirements to perform manicurists and nail technicians services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians
The first, required step to licensure as a nail technician in Mississippi is to enroll in a training program of at least 350 hours. The nail technician program must include practice and related theory in manicuring and pedicuring over a period of no less than 9 weeks. The Board maintains a list of approved cosmetology and nail technician schools here.
The requirement for the theory component of a nail technician program must total at least 85 clock hours and be conducted at a rate of at least 7 hours per week throughout the entire 9-week period. The skills/practical component must total at least 265 clock hours.
Approved programs in nail technology are recognized as consisting of the following areas of study:
Mississippi Board of Cosmetology laws, rules, and regulations
Professional image, ethics, and conduct
Infection control, prevention, and safety precautions
Anatomy and physiology
Basic chemistry and electricity
Personal/individual business skills
Salon planning and design, management, and marketing
Basic and specialty manicures, pedicures
Nail tips, nail wraps
Monomer liquid, polymer powder
Electric nail file
What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?
What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
Renewed on a biennial basis
What are fees associated with licensing?