Michigan Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians
Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in Michigan is controlled by the Michigan Board of Cosmetology.
General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in Michigan
Specific requirements to perform manicurists and nail technicians services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians
Be at least 17 years old and have completed a ninth grade education. The Michigan Board of Cosmetology also requires:
Complete 400 hours of training in a licensed school of cosmetology. You must complete a minimum of 145 hours of theory courses and 205 hours of practical coursework in the following:
Laws and rules
Mechanical and electrical equipment safety
Artificial nails, extensions and repairs
What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?
What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
Renews every two years
What are fees associated with licensing?