Massachusetts Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians

Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in Massachusetts is controlled by the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetologists.

General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in Massachusetts

Specific requirements to perform manicurists and nail technicians services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.

Who’s allowed to perform these services?

Nail Technician

Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians

The rules of the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetologists states that you must have the proper education before advertising yourself as a nail technician in Massachusetts. In order to become licensed as a Manicurist – Type 3, you must be at least 17 years old, have completed 10th grade at minimum, and complete a course of at least one month duration 100 hours of manicuring training in a Board-approved school.

Schools that house manicure programs are found in these Massachusetts cities:

Framingham
Ludlow
Brockton
Fitchburg
Lowell
New Bedford
West Springfield
Boston
Your 100 hours of training will combine lecture and practical courses. You will study the following subject matter:

First aid
Safety and sanitation
Artificial nail techniques
Professional ethics
Salon management
State laws
Basic manicuring with hand/arm massage
Hygiene
Anatomy

What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetologists

What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?

See training programs

How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?

License will renew every two years on your birthday

What are fees associated with licensing?

For fees, licensing duration and renewal details check with local governing body.

Location(s):

Massachusetts