Kansas Licensing Overview for Manicurists and Nail Technicians
Licensing for manicurists and nail technicians in Kansas is controlled by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology.
General Guidelines for Manicurists and Nail Technicians in Kansas
Specific requirements to perform manicurists and nail technicians services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Requirements and license preparation for manicurists and nail technicians
Your first step toward a license in Kansas is completing 350 hours of training in a nail technician school. These programs are fun and quick, and from them, you will learn the ins and outs of the beauty industry. You will become familiar with everything from nail theory to nail practice to nail business methods, ensuring your success as a manicurist and pedicurist in the state.
The Board recognizes approved manicurist license courses, which includes, but is not limited to:
Chemical Safety/OSHA Regulations
Nail Growth and Regeneration
Nail Irregularities and Diseases
Skin Structure and Functions
Hand and Arm Massages
Application of Polish
Purpose and Effect of Artificial Nails
Kansas Laws, Rules, and Regulations
Keep in mind that many beauty schools offer continuing education that you may take advantage of, so that you stay on the cutting edge of nail beauty, trends, and techniques.
What’s the state licensing site for manicurists and nail technicians?
What are some training programs available for manicurists and nail technicians?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
Renews evewry two years
What are fees associated with licensing?
There is a $195 fee for the initial application for a license and a $45 fee for renewal.