Kansas Licensing Overview for a Barber
Licensing for a barber in Kansas is controlled by the Kansas Board of Barbering.
General Guidelines for a Barber in Kansas
Specific requirements to perform barber services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.
Who’s allowed to perform these services?
Anyone holding a barber license
General requirements for a barber license?
Barber Practitioner License – 1,500 Hours
Barber Instructor License – Barber License for 3 Years + Instructor Exam
What’s the state licensing site for a barber?
What are some training programs available for a barber?
How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?
What are fees associated with licensing?
A barber is a professional who specializes in the cutting, styling, and grooming of men and boy’s hair and beards. This profession has a long-standing history filled with tradition and is an important subsection of the beauty industry. Many of the techniques and tools of barbering are as old as the profession itself. This includes the tools, techniques and overall aesthetic of the barbershop itself. Barbers are experts in their field. A barber’s job is primarily in customer satisfaction, which revolves around the customer service, friendliness, and communication of the barber in conjunction with the execution of a sharp and precise hair cut.
To become a barber, there is a set lot of requirements that is individual to each state across America. The following pages look at the detailed information on individual state licensing to help give you the best advice as you move forward in your career path.
To become a licensed barber in the state of Kansas there are several steps that must be taken.
- The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
- Apply for registration with the Kansas Board of Barbering.
- Undertake state licensing exams
- Ensure your license remains up to date
The completion of a formal barber program or apprenticeship
In the state of Kansas, there is only one method in which to gain the necessary qualifications to become a licensed barber: a formal barbering. Students to undertake a minimum of 1,500 hours of registered coursework at a barber college. At the beginning of this course, students will be required to register for a student license. The fee is $55.
There is currently no option to undergo a barber apprenticeship in the state of Kansas.
Apply for registration in the state of Missouri
Following the completion of formal education via an institution, barbers are required to apply for registration with the Kansas Board of Barbering. Once this application has been processed, barbers are then able to apply for the licensing examinations. In order to have this application processed, applicants are required to submit:
- The completed application
- Be 17 years of age or older
- An application fee of $180
- A barber diploma
- A copy of a driver’s license or birth certificate
Undertake state licensing exams
In the state of Kansas, there are three licensing exams that must be completed: the theoretical exam, the state law exam and the practical exam. Barber examinations in Kansas are conducted by The National Testing Network in partnership with Ergometrics. There will be a fee for these examinations.
The main concepts that will be covered in the theory exam may include (but are not limited to) the following:
- Scientific concepts
- Hair services
- Facial hair services
- Skin care and facial services
The main concepts that are covered in the practical examination may include (but are not limited to) the following:
- Set up and client protection
- Shaving with a straight razor
- Chemical Waving
- Virgin hair lightening
- Chemical Relaxing
The Kansas Rules and Regulations Exam will cover the sanitary regulations of Kansas, which may be found at the Board website.
Barbers will be sent an official notice from the Board detailing their results from their examinations. If successful, barbers will be eligible to apply for licensure to practice within the state of Kansas
Ensure your license remains up to date
Licensed barbers are required to update their license each year. The month in which barbers are required to renew their license is based on their last name. This information can be found online. This can be done easily through the Kansas State Board’s online license renewal portal. There is a $80 renewal fee.
There is currently no ongoing education requirement for barbers during their licensing period in the state of Kansas. However, many barbers may choose to undertake ongoing education to further their career opportunities and stay up to date in current fashions and trends.